FRA documents

  • to download FRA documents, please click here

Meetings of the Executive Committee

The relevant section of the FRA Constitution, is Article 48:-
Subject to the Articles, the Executive Committee members may regulate their proceedings as they think fit. Meetings of the Executive Committee shall be held not less than four times each calendar year. Members may attend meetings of the Executive Committee as observers and may speak at such meetings but may not vote. If any business at a meeting of the Executive Committee is deemed confidential, then any Member attending as an observer will be required to leave the meeting whilst such matter is discussed.

What This Means
Any of the 8,000 members of the FRA may attend a meeting of the Executive Committee to observe, subject to the "confidential" proviso. Such observers are also free to speak but not vote. Normal committee rules are observed, namely that speakers, whether Committee members or observers, should address the meeting via the Chairman, and should restrict what they say to the agenda item under discussion.

Committee members are expected to confirm their attendance in advance of each meeting. For reasons of practicality, any member who wishes to observe should make their request to the Secretary one week before any Executive Meeting. It may be necessary to restrict the numbers of observers if space is limited.

Committee Minutes / Papers
Briefing papers supporting agenda items are issued to Executive Members one week before each meeting. These are normally restricted to the Committee. Meeting Minutes are not circulated to the membership; however, in the interests of transparency, established practice is for the Secretary to produce a report for each Fellrunner to keep all members informed of business conducted by the Executive on their behalf.

The FRA Committee

The FRA Committee comprises the following roles and personnel. Please click on the Role Summary to see a description of the role, and click here to see a summary of the general requirements and expectations of Committee Members.

Please feel free to contact any Committee Member.

Position Name Club E-mail Phone
Role Summary
Chairman Charmian Heaton Cumberland Fell Runners Mail 07749 844212
Vice-Chairman and Race Liaison Officer (RLO) Lead Stuart Ferguson Northumberland Fell Runners Mail 07849 881161
Secretary Neil Talbott Ambleside AC Mail 015394 37824
Treasurer Andy Watts Cheshire Hill Racers Mail 01625 536896
Membership Secretary Patrick McIver Black Combe Runners Mail 07717 224976
Fixtures Andy McMurdo Pennine Fell Runners Mail 07834 912222
Championships Co-ordinator Nic Barber Helm Hill Runners Mail 01642 722661
Junior Co-ordinator Gareth Hardcastle Mercia Fell Runners Mail 07584 550762
Environment & Access TBC Mail
Coaching and Education Co-ordinator Nicky Spinks Dark Peak Fell Runners Mail 07548 283545
Magazine Co-ordinator TBC (mailbox being monitored) Mail
Welfare Officer Ed Gamble Cheshire Hill Racers Mail 0161 4455243
International Selection Chair Duncan Richards Helm Hill Runners Mail 07764 610799
Liaison Officer to Athletics Bodies Wendy Dodds Dallam Running Club Mail 01539 564747
Website Andy Watts Cheshire Hill Runners Mail 01625 536896
Membership Reps Ben Abdelnoor Ambleside AC Mail 07896 151179
Scout Adkin Ambleside AC (Scot: Moorfoot Runners) Mail  
Ricky Parrish Todmorden Harriers Mail 07942 881215
Kelli Roberts Helm Hill Runners Mail 07798 753859
Honorary Committee Members Graham Breeze and Morgan Williams
Co-optees with specific responsibilities
Communications Officer James Lowe Dark Peak Fell Runners Mail 07772 298302
COVID Co-ordinator Jamie McIlvenny Trawden AC Mail 07725 357024
First Aid Co-ordinator Ian Winterburn Dark Peak Fell Runners Mail 07733 266595

Members of Sub-Committees

(* = not a member of the Executive Committee)

Committee Chair Members Role Summary
Championships Nic Barber Ben Ablelnoor, Carlos Bedson*
Disciplinary, Review and Appeals Charmian Heaton all Executive Committee members except Secretary and Welfare Officer; Alison Wainwright*, Chris Evans*
Junior Gareth Hardcastle Pin Dhillon-Downey*, Wendy Dodds, Ed Gamble, Charmian Heaton, Layla Hirst*, Jamie McIlvenny, Graham Wright*
Safety, Equipment and Rules Neil Talbott Stuart Ferguson, Charmian Heaton, Chris Hodgson*, Andy McMurdo, Steve Wathall*, Andy Watts, Ian Winterburn
Communication James Lowe Barny Crawshaw*, Pat McIver, Victoria Rose (Tory) Miller*, Ricky Parrish, Britta Sendlhofer*, Neil Talbott, Andy Watts
Coaching Nicky Spinks Steve Pearson*, Andy Watts, Ian Winterburn, Graeme Woodward*

Members of other teams

Committee Chair Members Role Summary
Race Liaison Officer Team Stuart Ferguson Catherine Brennan (email) – Lake District North
Pete Tayler (email) – Lake District South
Clive Thornton (email) – North York Moors / Yorkshire Dales
Pita Oates (email) – Bowland / NW Lancs / South & West Pennines
Peter Ehrhardt (email) – Peak District
Layla Wray (email) – Junior Championships
Stuart Ferguson (Chair) (email) – Northumberland & Durham / North Pennines (plus Shropshire & Welsh Borders / Midlands / South West / South East / Isle of Man)
Access and Environment Team TBC Bob Berzins, Steve Hall, Louise Hawson, Max Howard, Richard Patton
FRA Long Distance Award Panel Martin Stone Rick Ansell, John Ashcroft, Adrian Belton, Bob Berzins, Steve Birkinshaw, Jon Broxap, Charlie Campbell, Wendy Dodds, John Fleetwood, Jon Gay, Manny Gorman, Mark Hartell, Anne Johnson, Jim Mann, Mark McDermott, Jasmin Paris, Steve Pyke, Peter Simpson, Nicky Spinks, Hugh Symonds, Ken Taylor, Paul Tierney, Yiannis Tridimas, Chris Upson, Helene Whitaker, Tony Wimbush, Rob Woodall

Other FRA Information

Name E-mail Phone
Handbook Andy McMurdo (Pennine Fell Runners) Mail
Magazine Editor Victoria Rose (Tory) Miller (Ambleside AC) Mail
Statistician Carlos Bedson (Cheshire Hill Racers) Mail
Equipment Officer Steve Wathall (Black Combe Runners) Mail 01229 467585
Under-23 Training Camp Co-ordinator Sarah McCormack (Ambleside AC) Mail 01539 443322
Junior Statistics inc Champs results Jim Godwin Mail
FRA Navigation Course Pauline May Mail 07515 129327
Fellrunner results Dave Weatherhead and Barbara Carney Mail 01535 273508
England Mountain Running Committee Duncan Richards Members: Karen Brooks, Mark Croasdale, Alec Duffield, Carol Evans, Sharon Hudson, Helen MacVicker, Neil Wilkinson, Sarah Wilkinson

Other Information

Name Website E-mail Phone
British Championships Judith Jepson Website Mail
UKA Information inc Insurance John Temperton Website Mail
N. Ireland Mountain Running Assoc Anne Sandford (Secretary) Website Mail 07779 254808
Scottish Athletics Hill Running Commission Hugh Buchanan (Convenor) Website Mail 01786 473776
Scottish Hill Runners Jill Stephen (Secretary) Website Mail
Welsh Mountain Running Committee Arwel Lewis (Secretary) Website Mail 07772 302411
Welsh Fell Runners Association Andrew Blackmore (Secretary) Website Mail 01633 882558
World Mountain Running Assoc Anne Buckley (UK representative) Website Mail 07817 681826
British Open Fell Runners Assoc Su Thompson Website Mail 07739 100389
Long Distance Awards Martin Stone Mail 01931 714106