Championships 2008

British Championships 2008

Sponsored by Pete Bland Sports / Norman Walsh Footwear

Date Category Race
05-04-08 L Mourne Mountains Results
17-05-08 M Moel Elio Results
14-06-08 M Durisdeer Results
28-06-08 S Blackstone Edge Results
02-08-08 L Borrowdale Results
30-08-08 S Dufton Results

British Champs after Dufton

Relay Championships 2008

19-10-08 Clwydian Hills, Denbighshire

English Championships 2008

Date Category Race
08-03-08 M Black Combe Results
26-04-08 L Three Peaks Results
28-06-08 S Blackstone Edge Results
20-07-08 M Kentmere Results
02-08-08 L Borrowdale Results
30-08-08 S Dufton Results

English Champs after Dufton

Junior and Intermediate Championships 2008, Under 8 & Under 10 Non Championship

Date Race
19-04-08 Anniversary Wa Results
26-05-08 Shutlingsloe Results
08-06-08 Stacksteads
19-07-08 Ingleborough Results
24-08-08 Bradbourne Results
21-09-08 Viking Chase Results

English Junior Uphill Championships 2008

29-06-08 Arnison Dash

Inter-Counties Championships 2008

10-05-08 Belmont Winter Hill

Yorkshire Championships 2008

Senior championships to be held at Pen-y-Ghent on Saturday 07-06-08

Junior U12, U14, U16, U18 & U23 championships to be held at Hellifield Gala Races on Saturday 02-08-08

Yorkshire Championship Co-ordinators & team managers: Eileen & David Woodhead, Tel: 01535 669100.

Derbyshire Championships 2008


Northern Ireland Championships 2008

Click here for more details

Scottish Championships 2008

Click here for more details

Welsh Championships 2008

Organised by the Welsh Mountain Running Committee.

For further information see Welsh Athletics, or email Adrian Orringe.

Welsh Fell Runners Association – WFRA 2008

For further information see W F R A or email Ross Powell.

7th Lakeland Classics Trophy 2008

Sponsored - by Pete Bland Sports

The organizers are grateful to Pete Bland Sports for sponsoring the 2008 Trophy and increasing the number of Bentham Pottery mugs awarded to 16. These now include a mug for highest women scorer in all 6 races and best improver from the previous year.

In 2008 104 runners (including 13 women) and 14 teams (mixed) completed the series: a record in all cases.

Male Pete Vale Mercia
Female Janet McIver Dark Peak

Team Borrowdale

Men 1st Pete Vale Mercia
2nd (V40) Mark Palmer Mynydd Du
3rd Ben Abdelnoor Ambleside
Vet 40 (4th) Jon Deegan Ambleside
Vet 40 (5th) John Hunt Dark Peak
Vet 50 Chris Lumb Kendal
Vet 60 Dave Tait Dark Peak
Series * Jonathan Wright Todmorden

Womens 1st Janet McIver Dark Peak
2nd Jane Reedy Ambleside
3rd (V40) Julie Carter CFR
Series* Jo Moore Keswick
Best Improver# Jamie Rackham CFR
Team Counters Barry Wilkinson, Dave Ward, Michael Cunningham
(Borrowdale) Series* prize refers to highest scorer in all 6 races.Best Improver # is calculated on 2007 Trophy.

The three main trophies and mugs will be presented at the FRA 'Do' on Saturday 8th November. It would be helpful to Graham Breeze (01943 874046 or [email protected]) if prizewinners would let him know whether or not they will be attending the 'Do'.

2008 Results – individualteam

Super Long A Series

Sat 31-05-08 Duddon Valley individual and team
Sat 14-06-08 Ennerdale Horseshoe individual and team
Sat 12-07-08 Wasdale Individual Team

Long A Series

Sat 02-08-08 Borrowdale Individual Team
Sat 20-09-08 Three Shires Individual Team
Sat 11-10-08 Langdale Horseshoe Individual Team

Entry free. Best three performances count and runners must complete a minimum of three superlong or two Superlong and one Long race.

Details from: