THE FELL RUNNERS ASSOCIATION

MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING HELD AT THE CASTLE GREEN HOTEL, KENDAL, ON SATURDAY 7 NOVEMBER 2009.

- 1. MEMBERS PRESENT: 34 APOLOGIES: 5.
- 2. **MINUTES OF 2008 AGM**. The minutes of the last Annual General Meeting (8 November, 2008 at the Castle Green Hotel, Kendal) were approved. Prop: Alan Barlow, Sec: Chris Knox.
- 3. **CHAIRMAN** distributed copies of the FRA Report to the meeting and gave a brief overview. There were no questions.
- 4. **TREASURER** distributed and reported on the accounts for the year ending 31 July 2008. There were no questions.

5. MOTIONS

6a. Proposed change to FRA CONSTITUTION RULE 3a

Under the overriding clause "The management of the Association shall be vested in an executive committee comprising : ", the FRA Constitution (Rule 3a) currently states:-

a) the following officers, elected at an Annual General Meeting; Chairman, Secretary, Assistant Secretary, Treasurer, Membership Secretary, Fixtures Secretary, Magazine Editor, Statistician, Website Officer, Environment and Access Officer, Junior Co-ordinator, Championships Co-ordinator, International Selection Committee Chair, Coach. At least nine of the fourteen officers must have competed in three category "A" fell races in the two years prior to their election.

This motion proposes that this rule be amended to state:-

a) the following officers, elected at an Annual General Meeting; Chairman, Secretary, Assistant Secretary, Treasurer, Membership Secretary, Fixtures Secretary, Magazine Editor, Statistician, Website Officer, Environment and Access Officer, Junior Co-ordinator, Championships Co-ordinator, International Selection Committee Chair, Coaching Co-ordinator; Welfare Officer; FRA Representative to the UK Athletics Mountain Running Advisory Group. At least nine of the sixteen officers must have competed in three category "A" fell races in the two years prior to their election.

(Proposed by Alan Brentnall, seconded by Graham Breeze. Approved by the Executive Committee.)

Alan Brentnall spoke on behalf of this motion prior to the vote.

Voting: For: 28, Against: 0, Abstentions: 0. Motion carried.

6. ELECTION OF OFFICERS AND COMMITTEE.

- a) Officers. The following Officers were elected unopposed. Chairman Graham Breeze. Secretary – Alan Brentnall. Assistant Secretary - Morgan Williams. Treasurer - Madeleine Watson. Membership Secretary – Pete Bland. Fixtures Secretary – Margaret Chippendale. Championships Coordinator – Jon Broxap. Environment and Access – Chris Knox. Magazine Editor - Britta Sendlhoffer. Website Officer – Brett Weeden. International Selection Committee Chair – Alan Barlow. Coaching Coordinator - Graeme Woodward. Welfare Officer - Rod Sutcliffe. FRA Representative to the UK Athletics Mountain Running Advisory Group - Alan Barlow.
- b) Club Representatives. Four seats. Three advance nominations. The following were elected unopposed. Mike Robinson (Dark Peak), Andy Schofield (Borrowdale), Tony Varley (Horwich).
- c) Membership Representatives. Four seats. Four nominations. The following were elected unopposed. Ross Powell (Mercia), Dave Ward (Borrowdale), Michael McLoughlin (Preston), Nick Harris (Rossendale).
- 7. ELECTION OF AUDITOR. Neil Hindle, elected unanimously.

8. CHAIRMAN CLOSED THE MEETING.

As usual, there was an open discussion on fell running matters after the formal business was complete.